top of page
Muriel Elisebeth Laura Morley nov 2019 rails_edited.jpg
fodp shop 3.JPG


Friends of Dagnam Park Shop

Dons Book Cover.JPG

Harold Hill and Noak Hill: a history
by Simon Donoghue & Don Tait

Published 2014.........Price £15.99

Available from

Harold Hill Library, 19A Farnham Road Harold Hill , Romford , RM3 8ED
Telephone 01708 - 434973

Central Library, St Edward’s Way, Romford. RM1 3AR
Telephone 01708 - 432389

Or by post from  London Borough of Havering Library Service
Local Studies and Family History Centre
Central Library,
St. Edward's Way,
Romford. RM1 3AR

UK postage is £2.50. (April 2016) For International Postage please email for prices
Please send your cheque for £ 18.49. made payable to LONDON BOROUGH OF HAVERING

(mark envelope HH Book)

On 25 November 1948 the first permanent house on the London County Council Harold Hill estate, in Romford, was handed over to its tenants. The ceremony marked the pending arrival of thousands of Londoners to what was then a rural corner of Romford.

 “Harold Hill and Noak Hill: a history”  traces the origins of Harold Hill and the history of the manors, farms and residents of Noak Hill, Romford Common and the old ward of Harold Wood. The book also tells the stories of visitors such as George Fox, founder of the ‘Quakers’ and the famous diarist Samuel Pepys. The story continues with the building of Harold Hill and explores the experiences of the early residents, the development of the schools, shops, churches, pubs and industry and the people who brought them to life and established Harold Hill as a place on the map with its own unique identity in the London Borough of Havering.

“Harold Hill and Noak Hill: a history” has 273 pages and is illustrated with over 300 maps, prints, photographs and documents.


bottom of page